+44(0)161 790 9890


A total of 1600 athletes started the race at 7am on Saturday 20th May in Puerto del Carmen for the 2017 edition of Club La Santa IRONMAN Lanzarote. Usually windy, Lanzarote’s wind behaved itself which resulted in very fast bike times, but made the run more challenging than usual due to the intense heat.


And a podium sweep for GB Elite women

It was an amazing day for the British Elite women as the 2017 Club La Santa IRONMAN Lanzarote saw a complete podium sweep. Favourite Lucy Charles (GBR)  showed her swimming form producing a 6th fastest swim time overall of 47.06 which resulted in her heading out on the bike with a five minute lead. She was then setting a really fast pace on the bike to open up a huge gap at the 100km mark. Lucy continued to push and was around 20 minutes up going into the marathon, setting a new bike course record in the process.

Lucy quickly eased into a decent rhythm, worked hard to keep hydrated and focused on controlling the race from the front. Further back Corinne Abraham and Lucy Gossage (winner in 2014) were on the target for the podium,  Abraham posted a female race best marathon time of 3:03 but it wasn’t enough to catch Charles  who took the win in only her second IRONMAN race.



Elite Women Results

1) #6 Lucy Charles, GBR, 9:35:40
2) #17 Corinne Abraham, GBR, 9:44:29
3) #8 Lucy Gossage, GBR, 9:50:22
4) #15 Jeanne Collonge, FRA, 10:04:46
5) #13 Saleta Castro Nogueira, ESP, 10:11:45
6) #25 Kate Comber, GBR, 10:22:34

A new champion in the Men’s Race

Out of the water all the pre race favourites were within five minutes of each other. This made the 180km bike even more interesting!  France’s Romain Guillaume set the pace early on, however was closely followed by teammate Bart Aernouts from Belgium. At 100km Bart took the lead and attacked in an attempt to open an advantage, however the gap was never more than 2 minutes over the remainder of the course.

Aernouts worked hard on the marathon and quickly dropped his teammate Guillaume who quickly starting to suffer through most of the marathon. Aernouts looked strong and kept a steady pace, however would the specialist runners Jesse Thomas (last years winner) and Alessandro Degasperi (winner in 2015) catch him?

As it turned out Degasperi and Thomas were too busy fighting for second place than for chasing the lead, and Aernouts would have had to break completely for either of the past winners to catch them.


Elite Men Results

1) #20 Bart Aernouts, BEL, 8:34:13
2) #3 Alessandro Degasperi, ITA, 8:43:23
3) #1 Jesse Thomas, USA 8:49:02
4) #26 Peru Alfaro San Ildefonso, 8:52:31
5) #5 Romain Guillaume, FRA, 8:57:01

Inspired to race the Club La Santa IRONMAN Lanzarote yourself?

Registration is now open! The legendary Club La Santa IRONMAN Lanzarote celebrates its 27th edition on the 26th May 2018. You can register for the event via ironmanlanzarote.com


Date Posted: 25th May 2017


Comments will appear once approved by our administrators, your email address will not be displayed.


Club La Santa UK's parent company, Sports Tours International, is protected by the ATOL arrangements when you book your holiday or travel, that includes flights and accommodation. Our ATOL number is 2711. Where you book a non-air inclusive holiday, and we act as the principal, your money is financially protected by our ABTA bonding arrangements. Our tour operating ABTA number is V1479. READ MORE